A remote conference on design and exclusion



We tend to think of the digital products and services we build as tools that promote equality and access. Yet we often create inhospitable, uncomfortable, and non-inclusive spaces despite our best intentions, and despite design’s overarching goal to foster inclusion.

Exclusion can be driven by conscious hatred. But we sometimes also fuel it with our own ignorance. Designers may not be able to address the former, but the latter opens up multiple directions for change.

To explore these opportunities, we’re gathering design and technology leaders whose expertise spans industry, startups, nonprofits, and research labs. We’ll convene here online on April 21 to discuss how the design of technology platforms excludes people. By focusing on exclusion, we want to push ourselves to think differently — and together — about building more welcoming and inclusive products.



Starting: 9am PT / 12pm ET / 4pm UTC / 5pm BST

A message on Design and Inclusion – John Maeda, Automattic

Panel: Exploring the Problems – Maria Giudice, Autodesk / Andrew Sinkov, Etsy / Ashleigh Axios, Automattic

Panel: Asking Better Questions – Paco Vinoly, NextDoor / Anne Diaz, Airbnb / Amy S. Choi, Mash-Up Americans

A message on Opportunities Missed from Excluded Voices – Joan Shigekawa

Panel: Engaging Online – Ethan Zuckerman, MIT Center for Civic Media / Erin McKean, Wordnik / Aminatou Sow, Tech LadyMafia

Panel: Discussing Solutions – Matt Mullenweg, Automattic / Aarron Walter, InVision / Amy S. Choi, Mash-Up Americans

Online Engagement – Live Q&A with John Maeda + More info to come

Ending: 1pm PT / 4pm ET / 8pm UTC / 9pm BST


hört sich ja ganz interessant an. ja
Link zu diesem Beitrag in die Zwischenablage kopieren